Newbie with some general questions

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bengal77

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new to rabbits as pets and I'm doing some research before I decide whether or not to get one (if I do it will be a rescue from the local shelter and will be spayed/neutered)t. I've read up on general rabbit care on a bunch of websites and have looked over some of the threads on this forum. So here goes.

I am 23 but I live with my family while I attend school. My mother has agreed to getting a rabbit but we're having a bit of a fight over cage placement. She's a complete OCD neat freak and is very sensitive to smells. Which is rather odd because we have two dogs and two cats and our house is never completely tidy or smell-free. Our house has a very open floor plan and only one spare bedroom has enough room for a large cage, and that's only if we stick it in the empty closet. I would like to tuck the cage at the back of the living room (the kitchen overlooks the living room) but she's horrified about having "bunny smells" near the kitchen. I have no problem cleaning the cage daily, especially since rabbits can be litter box trained. She's still adamant that it will smell. So, my questions are:

How easy is it to clean a cube and coroplast cage?

People say that rabbits are fairly easily litter box trained, is this generally true?

I know that rabbits have scent glands, do they give off a strong odor like ferrets do despite being groomed regularly? (IMO ferrets smell like corn chips no matter how clean and tidy you keep them or their cage)

I haven't suggested it to her yet but one other option is to keep the rabbit on our pool patio. It's partially roofed and the whole area is covered with a black screen that keeps the worst of the sun out and the area relatively cool even in the dead of summer. (We live in FL)