New to list: Question about kits falling out of nest box

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joanster

Reaction score
Hello! I am so glad to have found this group. I am new to rabbits and breeding, but my daughter and I are very excited. This started as a 4-h project, but now has turned into more showing. We have our second ARBA show this Sat. We are very excited.

We are breeding and showing Himalayans. Our first litter has 5 kits, however, two fell out of the nesting box at two days old and died before we found them. Since then, I have moved the doe's cage indoors so that I can monitor it more closely than I can in the barn. However, since then, I have had problems with the remaining three leaving the nesting box. THey are only one week old today. I have been able to save the other three because I found them in time and was able to warm them up, however what can I do to prevent this from continuing? Any ideas? I found another one on the cage floor this morning.

Thanks for your help.

joanster wrote:
Hello! I am so glad to have found this group. I am new to rabbits and breeding, but my daughter and I are very excited. This started as a 4-h project, but now has turned into more showing. We have our second ARBA show this Sat. We are very excited.

We are breeding and showing Himalayans. Our first litter has 5 kits, however, two fell out of the nesting box at two days old and died before we found them. Since then, I have moved the doe's cage indoors so that I can monitor it more closely than I can in the barn. However, since then, I have had problems with the remaining three leaving the nesting box. THey are only one week old today. I have been able to save the other three because I found them in time and was able to warm them up, however what can I do to prevent this from continuing? Any ideas? I found another one on the cage floor this morning.