My rabbit is obsessively pulling her fur out? Help

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AgentHop-kins

Reaction score
I have two dwarf rabbits who are sisters. These are my first rabbits, so I’m still learning. I’ve had them for three years ( this year is the fourth year).
Pan, who is the bigger of the who has this weird habbit of pulling her chest fur out ( right under her chin)

She has been to the vet before and had a lipoma from her dewlap and now it seems like she keeps pulling in that area.
Second trip to the vet, he checked for everything possible. She has no fungal/flea/worm problem, its not a tooth problem, shes not nesting with it and as far as the vet can tell nothing is wrong with her.
On her worst days she’ll leave herself with raw open wounds. Whenever I catch her I will try to stop her, although now she just ignores me. Recently shes started to pick up her poo and ‘rub’ it into the same area?

Does anyone have any idea what is going on? And how can I stop her?

Thanks!

Attachments

• 85A0BE13-8F17-40E7-ACF7-4244FD7B799F.jpeg
    85A0BE13-8F17-40E7-ACF7-4244FD7B799F.jpeg
    39.9 KB · Views: 7
Something is obviously bothering her even if the vet hasn't found a cause. Have you had xrays done, skin scrape, or biopsy? If not, then I would start with a skin scrape to check for mites or other possible skin infection problems. Next would be to consider a biopsy of the skin and/or having xrays taken. If she's not spayed, there's the possibility of it being cancer that's spread. So xrays of her body might be needed. Or if she's not spayed, it could still be hormonal even though she's not nesting, and if so spaying her should hopefully fix the behavior. You may also want to have blood tests done if nothing else is showing a cause.