Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zoe Franchino

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I got my first bunny about a week ago, so I’m pretty new to this rabbit business. He’s a two year old Netherland Dwarf buck. I adopted him from a breeder (I was friends with the breeder, she passed away and her daughter is liquidating her bunny barn, and offered me a bunny. I know many don’t support breeders, but I wanted to clarify my situation.) He was raised by a show breeder, and so he was kept in a small square cage, and traveled to shows. Now that I have him home, I have him as a free roaming bunny in my room only. He’s very comfortable with me being around, as he’ll come up and smell me or won’t flinch when I go sit by him or walk past him. He’s also very happy! All he does is binky and run around and chew on all of his toys. He even comes when I whistle. However, I can’t touch him or pick him up, or he runs away. This is difficult because I’d like to get him to the vet to be fixed, and later in the year I’d like to show him in 4H. I was hoping since he’d been shown before he’d be a little more tolerant of it, but he wants nothing to do with being touched.

Is there a way that you can train bunnies to enjoy being touched? I know that sounds silly, but I mostly work with horses and have gotten unhandled horses to the point where they pretty much beg for attention and being petted. However now that I’m in this boat with a bunny, I have no clue where to start. Any help is appreciated, thank you!

Picture of my boy!

Attachments

• 5D5E464E-EA89-44A4-A8F9-A51531577A10.jpeg
    5D5E464E-EA89-44A4-A8F9-A51531577A10.jpeg
    77.8 KB · Views: 35
Hello,
Firstly, I don’t know a huge amount about showing, but I think I’m right in saying you can’t show if you have them neutered? So might be worth looking into more.