Meet Rascal!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BugLady

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have had my little Rascal for a week now and these forums have helped tremendously with a lot of questions I have had so far.

Here is my story.

It actually started with another bunny, who I named Petunia. I had been wanting a rabbit for almost two years, and finally felt like the time was right. I am a graduate student so I spend a lot of time at home studying. I adopted her from someone on craigslist, and she was *perfect*. Litter trained, wonderfully friendly and snuggly (loved to be petted and would follow me around the house)... but when I took her to get spayed a month later, she passed away from anesthesia complications after the surgery. I was heartbroken.

A few weeks later I felt the pang again and thought I would give a second chance to another bunny.

This one has been quite a different story so far. Already neutered and litter trained, so I figured that was a good start. But he was kept in a tiny cage the first 8 months of his life (pet store, then at someone's home who neglected him), and was never really handled. A woman rescued him, got him fixed, and put up an ad on craigslist. Her opinion of "friendly and snuggly" actually meant "goes limp when you pick him up but otherwise is scared of people"... which was disheartening to me since I was still mourning my super friendly bunny.