I need help understanding body language and poses

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunnycarrot1

Reaction score
I don't have any bunnies but I am pretty new to rabbits in general. I know the bunny basics and care of them pretty much down pat.

I have read many books like rabbits for dummies and the author explains what certain body positions And nosies mean That is great but sadly it is not in pictures or videos.
if someone could make a video or post a picture of there rabbit doing a certain position or a video of a noise like what a mean about to bite , scared, or happy bunny is, even when in pain but it can be any feeling really. it would be a real help.

The goal of this would be to help people like me understand what a certain bunny noise or position means.

Last edited:
Sorry, this a bit self promoty so I hope it's okay, but I've written an illustrated book on bunny behaviour called 'Understanding Your Rabbit's Habits' which sounds just what you're looking for. Here's a key to ear direction :)

eardirection.gif

my bunnies have never really made much noise... just chattering their teeth when being pet from the tip of their nose up their forehead to between their ears (bunny version of a purr) and thumping (can be fear or annoyance - with mine, it almost always means "knock it off, mom").

this isn't the best example of bunny body language because lops lack ear control, therefore their ears aren't expressive... but I took this video when my girls' bond was inexplicably upset and Gaz (my lop) was suddenly terrified of Nala. you can see a fear response from Gazzles and mild aggression from Nala. based on other incidents from this same time-frame, I assume Nala would've given Gaz a nip on the bootie if I hadn't intervened:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tZQ8yJK4sk[/ame]

happy bunnies doing binkies: