How to encourage my rabbit to eat more hay

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunny_charlie

Reaction score
Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here so pls bear with me.
My baby bun’s about 6 months old now so we recently switched him over to oaten hay. He’s always been on a bit of that hay while eating alfalfa so the transition wasn’t difficult. Problem is, he’s super picky with the hay - it has to be a specific cut with a specific amount of sweetness and moisture. Unfortunately what he wants isn’t exactly available rn. I’ve tried all types of oaten hay (stock feed ones from the rural areas) all of which are deemed good quality in my opinion (no bugs, no mold, long green strands, sweet smell) but he’s just not a fan of it. Where we live, timothy hay is not readily available; even if it is, its the ones from Oxbow and by the time they ship from the US to here, it’s like $150 for a small bag that’ll last no more than a few days. I don’t know what to do because now he’s not eating as much hay as he normally does despite his appetite still being there. I know that hay is very important for a rabbit’s digestive system and for wearing down teeth so I’m really worried. Also, another problem im finding is that when he gets fed his pellets in the morning by my mum (im at school during that time), i come home to find it uneaten but as soon as i stick the bowl in front of him he finishes it in minutes??? Any advice would be much appreciated🥺

I would look around if there are horses somewhere close and try a bale (or asking for a bag full) of horse quality grass hay, and offer lots of it.
Also, they are greedy little things, making munching motions with your hand in the hay can make them try it.