Help with Revolution

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thumperina

Reaction score
Even though my buns are outdoors, I never used anything until now, and they never had any problems. I bought Revolution for prevention but haven't used it yet.
I have 3 rather big bunnies. One is about 7lbs, one is over 10 lbs, and the third is the smallest (I would say maybe 5-6 lbs)
It's for kittens or puppies under 5lbs. Each tube contains 0.25 ml (15mg) selamectin.
Would each tube be enough for each bunny or not?
Also, is it necessary to keep them separated so that they don't lick each others medicine? for how long? Vet never said a word about it. thanks

do you agree with this
6 mg of selamectin per kg of animal body weight ?

So my 7 lbs bunny weighs 3.2kg, then one tube (15mg) is not quite enough, right?

I have never used Revolution before. It would probably be safe to contact your vet and ask them :)

What are you hoping to treat with the revolution? There are varying opinions on the appropriate way to dose rabbits with selamectin. Some veterinarians use the cat/dog dose and others prefer a higher dose for rabbits. There is also evidence that rabbits may metabolize selamectin faster than cats and dogs do and may require re-application more frequently than every 4 weeks in order to stay protected. Underdosing your rabbits won't hurt them, but may not clear up an active problem they're experiencing either.
With any topical flea medication I like to apply it to the neck where they can't reach to groom themselves and then I usually feed them or otherwise distract them. If you can do it, best to separate them for a bit while it dries too. Revolution is nice because it has a carrier that is alcohol based (if I recall correctly) and dries fairly quickly compared to some of the other products on the market.