Food, Inc.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZRabbits

Reaction score
Thank you for your suggestion. My husband knew about it, but we did watch again.

Very interesting. Also would like to share with you a website and maybe you know of it.

Offthegridnews.com. Also extremely helpful.

Wishing you and your son all the luck. Sorry that some disapprove but it seems that things are changing here to enlarge the bunny family

and that is GOOD!

You stay safe.

K:)

I think with things like this it's important to remember that there is bias on both sides. A few weeks ago, I was waiting in line for my free burrito at a local burrito place and had someone say to me, "If you'd seen 'Food Inc.' you would never eat beef again."
I responded, "Actually I have, but I'm also an animal science student and just finished working hands on with some beef cattle so I'll go ahead and take the beef."

My education has allowed me to tour a number of farms - both big and small- as well as facilities like a "meat solutions" slaughterhouse and even a veal grower and I am consistently impressed by what I see. Yes, there are bad facilities out there and it's easy to generalize but in the end, the industry is willing to conform to whatever the consumer wants (and is willing to pay for). Consumers have driven value-added products like organics or "natural" meats, group housed veal, concepts like "free-range" or "pasture-raised" that generally decrease the efficiency of the industry and that are honestly not always in the animal's best interest. I love animal products and have no intentions of decreasing my consumption, but I also know what I want in a product and I'm willing to pay more to get it. At the same time, not every consumer can pay more so there's an important balance between the ideal situation for the animals and efficiently (and nutritiously) feeding the world.