Flooring for Non-Litter Trained Bunny

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trisha Bailey

Reaction score
Hi all!

Please forgive me if this has already been posted before. I am very new to rabbits. We were just given a 10 week old female bunny. I have a store bought cage that has the plastic bottom with wire top. The bunny is not litter trained and so it pees and poops freely right now. I have a litter box in there and had started with a fleece blanket along the bottom floor, but quickly realized that wasn't going to be an option since the bunny pees all day long. So right now I'm using paper towels along the bottom, but still, I feel like I'm needing to change the towels all day long. What are some other option? I don't want her to be walking or sitting in her pee. I'm using wood pellets in the litter box and I've heard you shouldn't use the same thing as flooring because it's confusing for them. And pine shavings aren't healthy. So what else can I use? And...

1) At what age can a bunny be litter trained?
2) Does a bunny have to be spayed or neutered in order to be litter trained?

Rabbits litter train quite easily once they are spayed. In fact, they pretty much train themselves if they are provided a proper set up.

Younger rabbits may also litter train, but even those that do seem to get the hang of it, may suddenly forget that training once hormones kick in.