Ferret and rabbits in same household?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blue eyes

Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience or advice on the possibility of keeping a ferret as a pet in a home that has pet rabbits? I know that ferrets view rabbits as prey, but is there a way to safely do this?

Background: My bonded rabbits have the whole downstairs all day long. They roam free from morning til night. We have a labradoodle who is also with us in the house and is just fine with the rabbits. The upstairs is off limits to the rabbits. It is barricaded.

Is it possible to care for and keep a ferret upstairs somehow. If it got out would it attack the rabbits? I have no experience whatsoever with ferrets. My 13 year old would really like to have one.

Thank you for the link.
I meant to do a forum search for ferrets and then got side-tracked looking at other posts. You saved me the trouble.:D

I'd be happy to hear anyone else's thoughts as well. I can see this is going to take alot of thought and consideration.

I have had ferrets in the past and like buns should have time outside of a cage every day to run and platy. Is there a way you could have the buns locked in a room while the ferret was kept in another room to run around? How responsible is your 13 year old? If you explained the danger to a rabbit and the importance of making sure the ferret did not escape would your 13 year old do everything in their power to make sure that was the case?