Elop with a bum knee

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

littl3red

Ashtin - Member
Reaction score
Before anyone criticizes, I know it's soon, and it feels soon, but these circumstances are a little dire. I work as a vet tech now, and another one of the vet techs and his brother breed rabbits. Well, his brother has this english lop that's about 1 year old, but she has a luxating patella and she's cow hocked. So basically she can't be shown, and the luxating patella is genetic, so she can't be bred either, but other than that she's a functional rabbit. But they were going to cull her because she's not "useful." :pssd:

Another one of the vet techs saw her and fell in love, but ended up not being able to take her because of lack of space/possibility of becoming rottweiler food, so basically they're waiting to see if I want her or not. I do want to take her, because Maya is lonely and she seems like she needs a good loving home, but I don't know anything about elops, or luxating patellas. Anyone have experience with either one of these? Any special care? I do know elops are more prone to ear infections because of their big ears dragging on the ground all the time. Would the ears prevent her from being able to jump up the levels in the NIC cage? Sorry if that's a stupid question, but picturing it in my mind, it's a little awkward...

I know there are a couple people that do, but I don't know how often they are on here. I would think with a leg problem, that you probably would want to keep her in a single story cage or pen, as the jumping up and down levels would seem to me to be hard on the damaged knee.