Early Neutering / Petco

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tamsin

Reaction score
I'm looking for information on early neutering and I'm hoping someone here might have some or know where to look. A big pet chain in the UK is planning to start selling young rabbits neutered at 5 weeks and we'd like to know more about the implications.

I believe that Petco used to do the same in the US? Does anyone have rabbits from this scheme - were there long term health implications? Anyone know if any vets or rescue/welfare organisations gathered any data or research on it?

Thanks
Tamsin

I don't know, but I'm fairly new to rabbits. At 5 weeks it's often hard to be sure of the sex, isn't it? Honey was an adult when I got her, so have only hearsay information about youngsters.

Wow, I've never heard of that and I'm no expert, but it sure doesn't seem like a good idea. I mean, I've never heard of a vet who will spay/neuter before 4-6 months so it seems suspicious to me.

I doubt whether there have have been any studies done on this , however, the only info I do remember reading came from a European vet , Rami, who posts on a listserve group named Etherbun.

Petco did neuter rabbits very young and as I recall they only did males. Several years ago Petco discontinued selling rabbits nationally and now adopt out shelter rabbits. Petco is moving toward 'rescue" efforts and actuallyI am very much involved as a liason between our shelter and our Petco. I am a volunteer who exercises the shelter rabbits in our Petco store.

This is not a quote but I think that the concern was the possibility that bones would be weaker in arabbit done really young.