Digestive/Diet issue?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm very new to being a bunny mum and to these forums so I'll try and keep it short and simple. I had a slight scare with Bruno; my 10-week old Frenchie 2 days ago. In the evening, he started to pant and press his belly to the floor, his whole behavior changed. At first, I thought he was maybe too hot (he spends the day inside the house with me, and at night he stays in an ex-pen in my pantry), so I put him in the pantry and sat with him.

I could then start to hear his belly popping and gurgling, he looked very uncomfortable and I could tell he was struggling with gas. I sat with him outside the pen for a few hours keeping an eye on him, he was still foraging and eating/drinking which was good, he was hopping about a little but would go back to pressing his belly on the floor or laying out flat. During the few hours passing by, no poops. I then started to worry, his belly felt very swollen and so I began thinking the worst and contemplating GI Stasis. Throughout the night I was checking upon him, he was eating his hay, drinking, and mobile, but no poops.

The second day (yesterday) I woke up to a few poops (hooray!) but around 50% smaller than his usual, and darker. Throughout the day yesterday, he barely pooped. I noticed a formed cecotrope in his litter box, and then a few singular/broken cecotropes stuck to his fur and dotted around the litter box. But he seemed a lot brighter in himself. Still eating and drinking so I was a little happier.

Today I woke up to lots of poops and a happier bun! but still very dark, some smaller than others, some hard and some looked a bit softer.

I just wonder if anyone thinks this is gas, or something else?