Chocolate Dutch Breeding

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Akkatia

Reaction score
Okay, my 4-H show is TOMARRROW!!!! So excited! This is my fourth 4-H show, and I want to make some arrngments with some friends about breeding Hershey, old-time BOB, chocolate Dutch doe. I already know whatblack to choc brings, because I've been breeding black and chocolate Dutch for a few years now.What would happen if I bred a choc doe to a tortoise buck, what would it look like? Also, a blue buck? A gray buck? Thanks to everyone who helps!

--Kiya--

Akkatia wrote:
Okay, my 4-H show is TOMARRROW!!!! So excited! This is my fourth 4-H show, and I want to make some arrngments with some friends about breeding Hershey, old-time BOB, chocolate Dutch doe. I already know whatblack to choc brings, because I've been breeding black and chocolate Dutch for a few years now.What would happen if I bred a choc doe to a tortoise buck, what would it look like? Also, a blue buck? A gray buck? Thanks to everyone who helps!

--Kiya--

A lot depends on what recessives the rabbits might be carrying.

Chocolate to tort would most likely give you black. Other possible colors would be chocolate (if your tort carries chocolate), and you could also get tort if your chocolate carries the non-extension gene. I don't recommend the cross, because you are setting yourself up for producing chocolate torts -- a non-accepted variety. I don't advise crossing choc. to tort.

Chocolate to blue would most likely give you black. Depending on the recessives both are carrying, you could also get chocolate or blue. Unfortunately, you could also get lilac - an unaccepted color. I don't advise crossing chocolate x blue.

Gray to chocolate will most likely produce gray. Can also produce black as well as chocolate-grays (not accepted)if the gray carries the chocolate gene. Once again, not a cross I advise.