Bunny's not drinking

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delusional

Reaction score
For the past few days, every time I've gone tor efresh Bunny's water the bottle it's still been full to the top. I can only conclude from this that he's not drinking anything..

Is this a sign of something serious?

I would say yes. I'm no expert, but I know bunnies should drink regularly! Has he been pooping and eating??

If not, or if his poops are looking different to normal, I'd say you should take him to the vet ASAP.

You can also syringe bunnies water if they don't drink, but you have to be very, very careful it doesn't get into their lungs...

its serious if he's not drinking..try placing a bowl of water in his cage. I don't know if he's a new bunny but some bunny's don't know what a water bottle is for.

Also try giving him some very wet greens as that will give him some fluids

He's not a new bunny, he's used a water bottle since he was little.
We also noticed that he seems to have diahrroea when we let him out for his run this morning.

We did introduce a new veg to his diet last week, do you think this could be the cause? Is it possible he's getting lots of moisture from this veg and doesn't feel the need to drink?

I'd stop feeding the new veggie.

Some rabbits don't drink much when they're getting lots of veggies. But if he normally drinks water and suddenly stopped, that could be bad. Try giving him a water bowl-maybe he decided that he doesn't like the bottle. Or give him a second bowl or bottle with a little something mixed in to make it yummy, like vanilla, flavored Pedialyte, or juice.

Thanks for all the suggestions - I'll start trying them tonight. I've also booked him in at the vets tomorrow afternoon, just in case.