Bunny has started peeing on me; help!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrsbunnyw

Reaction score
Hi; newbie here - can anyone help?

We have 2 housebunnies; Toffee (2YO female dwarf lop) and Bilbo (2YO Netherland Dwarf rescue bunny). We’ve had Toffee since 6 weeks and Bilbo for a year and they are happy, well-bonded bunnies.

I do all the feeding, cleaning etc. Naturally that means my husband is top bunny and both bunnies will lick his nose but not anyone else’s! This has been the case throughout, and is fine.

However Toffee has recently peed on my twice innthe evening. The first time I was very stressed about somethinv and she jumped up on my lap and immediately peed all over my lap. She seemed utterly unaware. This was about 2 weeks ago.

Then last night both bunnies were on my lap eating treats (salad). Once I had said they’d had enough, Bilbo hopped down. Toffee then lifted her tail and peed all over me again. It felt deliberate.

She is only quite young, so I am not expecting incontinence yet, and she uses her litter trays the rest of the time - we’re not getting pee on the carpet. But I’m not sure what has changed to trigger the behaviour change, and I’m really not enjoying it very much!

Should I be concerned? We only have a regular vet nearby, no bunny expert, so I’m not sure they would be able to help with anything behavioural. If it is behaviour, how do I stop it? I told her off and put her down last night but she seemed unconcerned.

All advice welcome!

If she's not having accidents anywhere else then it sounds like a behavioral issue.