Breeding Holland Lops

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bri5737

Reaction score
Hello! I am new to show rabbit breeding and would like some advice if possible. I bought a black Holland Lop doe that has Opal, Orange, Chesnut, Black Tort, Lynx, and Black Gtp steel in her pedigree. She is very small and compact and I'm pretty sure she has the dwarf gene. She won 3 legs as a junior, but unfortunately she has way too much ear control so is no longer showable. I've been told she has had at least one successful litter in the past. Unfortunately she is pretty skittish so I'm unsure if I should even breed her right now.

I just bought a broken blue tort Holland Lop buck that has a massive head and strong crown. He is 7 ounces over the weight limit so he is not showable. His father won 70 legs, so he definitely comes from good lines. His pedigree has all torts; blues and blacks. I was told he has the dwarf gene and that he is just very big. He is very sweet and certainly not shy.

I was wondering if color wise would these two be a good match? What colors might I get? I would expect black torts as they both have them in their pedigree, as well as broken black. I'm just unsure if I would get blues, opals, or any other color. Also, what are the chances of having kits with nice heads and crowns? I'm really hoping these two will create well balanced kits as both rabbits have funny heads, lol.DSC_0935.JPG DSC_0207.JPG