Bonding my rabbits

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashbun

Reaction score
I have bought a new rabbit that is 10 weeks old (i haven't picked it up yet). I also have an older rabbit that is 7 months old. Neither of them are neutered, but they are both females. The younger one is going to be living in an indoor cage until they have been bonded, but i don't really know the best way to bond them.
Any ideas?

Definitely wait til the little one is older... so you can know the personality and be certain it's a female. I had two unspayed bonded ladies who were sisters and friends for life, but I have no experience with two does as adults. When I bonded Willa to Foxwell I let them meet in a neutral area that was very busy and a little stressful, so they had other things to focus on than a strange rabbit. Cages next to each other on car trips are great for this, so is a bathroom with slick floors (also gives you more time to act if they start to exhibit aggressive behavior). I've heard a water pistol is also good to break focus and does little more than annoy them. It also makes them groom themselves in the other rabbit's presence, which lowers the tension.
I'm sure other folks on the site know way more about bonding two lady rabbits than I do, but this is what helped me with Willa and Foxwell!

Hi,
Two girls often don’t get on with each other. It would have been better to get a neutered boy and a girl.

You can bond them immediately you should not wait. Best is to bond them on a neutral ground where they have not been yet. Best to place them both together at the same time, best time for it is lunch time, rabbits are less active at that time and just to keep an eye on them.