Bonding For A First Timer

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jenniferm

Reaction score
Bonding Question: This is my first time bonding rabbits so not sure what to expect. I have a 7 month old Flemish Giant (neutered male) and a 4 month old Flemish Giant/New Zealand mix (female, not spayed yet). They have seperate enclosures but have supervised bonded time. So far there has been no fighting. The bigger neutered male has nipped at the female but not being aggressive. Do I continue supervised bonding time? How will I know when they have bonded? My plan is to make there two seperate enclosures into one big one when I know they have bonded and are ready for that.

Attachments

• 20200707_195000.jpg
    20200707_195000.jpg
    206.7 KB · Views: 2
  • 20200713_185941.jpg
    20200713_185941.jpg
    276.6 KB · Views: 1
  • 20200716_182725.jpg
    20200716_182725.jpg
    306.9 KB · Views: 1
I would continue with the supervised bonding time as ordinarily there should be no nipping (if there is it should be more used for communication rather than dominance or aggressiveness) between a bonded pair. You should know they are bonded once the nipping dies down and they are snuggling and grooming one another and acting as they would in their individual enclosures (looking relaxed and unfazed by the other's company).

Once you think they're ready and can give them long periods of time together with minimal nips you can put them in an area where they can stay the night. It would be great if you could supervise them overnight (sleeping next to them so you wake up if they get in a scrap) but I understand its quite an inconvenience. If they make it through the night or 2 with no scraps then you can officially call them bonded. Good Luck!