Bloody doe and Abandoned newborn kit, advice?!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kimchilla

Reaction score
This is my doe and I's second litter. Her first litter, 4 months ago, went flawless.
I am no rabbit expert - is there any hope for an abandoned kit?

My doe was due for our second litter yesterday and had them over night or this morning. She lives in a stall in the barn and I saw a kit on the floor of the stall. But also, blood in various places. She did not have this at all last time. I assume she had trouble delivering.

The kit on the floor, I thought was dead and ignored while I inspected the nest box and the doe. The doe has a bloody hind end, and there is a bit of blood in the nest, several healthy kits (I did not disturb things enough to know much other than "yep there they are" and they're alive)

There is a big glob of bloody tissue which I at first thought was a half eaten kit but it doesn't appear to be? And several spots of bloody pee in the stall. What would cause this for the doe, what should I do/check for/watch for or can be done?

THEN I noticed the kit on the floor moving and picked it up. Someone bit its ear off and it was ice cold. I thought for sure it was readily dieing and contemplated putting it out of its misery vrs trying to warm it. I brought it in and have the kit on a heating pad. Its warm and toasty now, crawling, wiggling and squeaking.

I assume the mother will reject it given the hole in its head from the ripped off ear? Or should I try putting it in the nest? Seems like with the wound others might get ill. What is the outlook for this kit? What do I do with it? How does one feed an orphaned kit, if I can clean the wound and keep it warm?

Would you assume this kit was stuck and mom pulled it out by its head and thats what happens with the blood on her and the missing ear?