Adopting Underage Bunnies Advice

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emilylhr

Reaction score
Hi! Please let me know if this is inappropriate to be here, I'm a total newbie and I'm hoping for some advice. I recently adopted two baby bunnies (dwarf lop x mini lop), from a pet store (I know adopting is ideal, but I've been checking my local shelters for over six weeks and there's never any rabbits whatsoever close by, and there was no bunnies in pet stores either around this time, likely because of many stores refusing to sell bunnies around Easter). The pet store was told they were eight weeks old, but they're seriously tiny and seemed quite delayed in that they were all (there were four littermates) dependent on one another, their grooming seemed delayed, etc. The pet store kept them in for two weeks to make sure they were developing safely, and I took them home yesterday. Sorry for a delayed explanation and in advance for a lot of questions, but basically, I'm honestly quite inexperienced with baby bunnies, so if anyone could be of help with some questions and also general advice, I'd be eternally grateful.
One of my primary concerns is that the pet store was feeding them carrots, apples, and I'd assume other veggies to help them gain weight. I know this is dangerous, but I'd like to know if taking them off that without easing them off it could pose any risk to them. I'm currently feeding them a diet of primarily alfalfa hay and a little bit of oaten hay, as I believe the store might've been feeding them that before (it's from the same store) and a little bit of pellets to help them continue gaining weight.