Rabbit exhibiting destructive behavior

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jacobphilips

Reaction score
Hello guys,

My rabbit is behaving strangely, it has become more aggressive and the behaviour is become destructive. I'm new to the world of rabbits. Any help will be appreciated

How old is he? What does his housing look like?

Rabbits aren't "destructive", they just use things in their environment to satisfie their urges, like chewing, digging, marking etc., that's what rabbits do. The clue to living with rabbits is to tweak this environment in a way so they don't reduce heritage furniture to splinters, surprising us with a tunnel through the couch or electrocuting us with every power cord we touch by the fine art - some would call it a science - of Bunny Proofing.

So, if something gets destroyed it's because it's where it shouldn't be, is not protected or not planned to be expendable. Ripping cardboard hidy houses to shreds isn't destructive, but entertainment and exercise.
They like gnawing a lot - but start with the good stuff. I always have some tree branches and twigs in various locations for them, more tasty then furniture.

Young rabbits can have a lot of energy, and much of what is percieved as aggression is mostly misunderstandings. They are very different to cats or dogs, and have very distinct personalities. Most don't like being picked up, one of mine after 10 years still hates being touched at all. My new boy on the other hand is all over me.

So, the more detailed you describe an issue you have with youre rabbit the better advice can be given. You'll still hear different, even oposing opinions since rabbits can be so different. It takes some patience to grow into this rabbit thing.