VERY low hanging testicles

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lauren8165

Lauren & Buns
Reaction score
**I am new to the rabbit world, so I apologize if this not appropriate to post on a public forum**

I took in a rabbit someone found in our neighborhood that no one has claimed. We have fallen in love with him and he is here to stay. He is scheduled to be neutered in the next few weeks, but after doing some research, I am a little concerned about his testicles, because they don't seem to look anything like the other male rabbits. So my question is..is this normal or something the be concerned about and let the vet know?? I took a few pics and will attach.

View attachment 1496263308134.jpg

View attachment 1496263327532.jpg

I didn't think so. I'm glad I know now. I am going to see if I can get him to the vet sooner.

How easy is he to handle? One thing I'd be worried about is his ability to urinate without urinating on his scrotum. In rabbits, the testes are anterior to the penis and thus he may be urinating on his scrotum. If he's easy to handle, I'd give a quick check to see if it's red or inflamed. He definitely still needs a vet either way, but it becomes more urgent with urine scalding.

He is VERY good with handling. He is so affectionate to me and warmed up to me pretty quick. He is constantly grooming me. I will try to check and make sure there's no infection going on.

He stays inside. I only take him out to exercise and play. He doesn't like to be outside really.

That is definitely not normal looking. Good thing you will be getting him neutered! Just in case it's something that might be more prone to testicular cancer. Getting an appointment sooner couldn't hurt.

I actually found some really great info about the condition your rabbit has! Take a look:

http://www.medirabbit.com/EN/Uro_gen_diseases/Skin/Testic_pendants_en.pdf