Trusted a vet big mistake

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bambii

Bambii
Reaction score
So i am so stressed out. I am new to the rabbit world so of course i find a professional for help. My blakey girl had a surprise litter. The kits just opened their eyes and wer born on Jan 2. I took blake to the vet to get a small check on her ears and was told it would be a good time to spay and the had this great promotion going blah blah. So i informed the vet she was nursing and she said it is fine that as long as the kits are passed the critical stage they will be okay. And to let them feed one by one while holding the mom jntil she heals... Is this true? My baby girl got spayed today and i am unsure now. Will she still produce milk?

I wouldn't have spayed her while she is nursing. You're very lucky she didn't die during the operation - there is an increased blood flow in the area considering she's producing milk and an increased risk of blood loss during the operation. Nursing will be very painful for her considering she was just cut open next to her nipples. For a spay in good conditions you should give meds to avoid infections (antibiotics) and to avoid pain (Metacam / meloxicam) for at least 5 days after the operation but if the doe is nursing you can't because it will go into the milk. The only case where the spay of a nursing doe is recommended is when there is a chance she is pregnant again (when the male was there while she gave birth). In your case, it was unecessary.
It's too late now, but you will have to monitor your poor girl closely - considering she can't be given pain meds there is a chance she will stop eating because of the pain (the combined stress of a first litter with the stress of the operation doesn't help) which would lead to GI stasis. Make sure she eats plenty of hay.