Is my rabbit show quality?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ana_The_Dreamer

Reaction score
All in all, I don't mind if Nessa is or isn't show quality. :p But recently the idea was proposed to me, "Why don't you see if you can show her? She's so pretty!"
So I looked on her pedigree and discovered she comes from a long line of show bunnies. Her father apparently has 2 legs. She's labeled as a "sable point" Holland Lop. I always thought of her as more of a smokey pearl? But I'm not sure, I'm not too experienced.
Can anyone tell me if Nessa would be considered show quality? (Sorry if her posing isn't correct, I wasn't sure what exactly to do..)

DSC_0176.jpg

DSC_0181.jpg

DSC_0178.jpg

DSC_0174.jpg

Well she certainly is big time beautiful! I honestly couldn't say whether she's show quality or not, because I have no experience there, but from what I understand, show bunnies must be unaltered....or so that's what I've read. Is Nessa spayed?

I don't know Hollands well enough to judge, but according to the standard, anything other than a small simple dewlap is a fault. I'm not sure if her dewlap is big enough to be considered a fault.

http://thebouncehousepage37.blogspot.com/p/arba-standards.html?m=1

a small dewlap is fine so she shouldn't get disqualified. you should pose her, we can't really tell unless she is. I can for sure tell that her ears are very long (they should be just below her jaw line) And her crown, the fur between her ears is slipped. The crown should be directly behind her eyes. She also might be long in the shoulders. Here is what a show quality holland lop looks like and this is how you should pose her:

ImageUploadedByRabbit Forum1405568505.057561.jpg

Last edited: