abruptly shedding and eating hair?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunnyornot

Reaction score
Hello friends,
My rabbit has been doing some weird stuff. She's a lionhead/dwarf mix. She's almost a year old. she has a NIC cage and a whole room to herself when we're home. She's not spayed yet. She gets hay all the time and pellets with some veggies too. She started out fuzzy with a big main but over the course of the year her hair has thinned almost unnoticeably but something weird has been happening. (I'm a newb so maybe it isn't so weird).

I've walked in twice now and all of a sudden hair is everywhere!!! It's long and fluffy as though it's coming from her main but I can't tell where it's thinning from and it's A LOT of hair. More than it looks like there should be, and to make matters worse this time she created a little cozy home in a box with a blanket under it. She had the blanket all fluffy and pulled in underneath the box and her hair was everywhere. and when I went to gather the hair she dug and put a a huge chunk in her mouth. I had to pull it out and it was a big handful of hair. I know she sheds and shedding is normal but when I pet her it's not like hair is just coming off. This happens really suddenly.

She's doesn't have bald spots. She seems happy - she plays, eats, uses the potty, lays down when I'm there, binkys, etc. I don't think she's pulling it out but I have no idea. Has anyone experienced this before. I should also mention the hair is in open space so I don't think she's getting hung up on anything. It shedding like this normal?

here's bunny. Her hair not on her main is short - she does have some small tuffs on her belly still but not very much at all. and there wasn't much before this. I don't want her eating the hair. If anyone has any suggestions on helping any hair she may have swollowed to pass let me know.