A few questions, some general and some breeding/colour questions

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neejchee

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to rabbits and have a few (read: approximately 67 million) questions, a few of which I'm hoping people here will be willing and able to help me with.

To start with a tiny bit of background on my rabbit situation, I have two 7-8 week mini lop does who I love and adore. Although I have no interest in running anything remotely approaching a full rabbitry, I am seriously considering doing some more hobby level breeding when my girls are older. Assuming they are both good healthy candidates for breeding, I would use studs from one of the breeders they came from, probably just allow them to have one litter each, and then maybe take a breeding pair from the resulting progeny (my girls are not at all related to each other) if I decide to continue.

My girls only met tonight, when I brought Sammy home to meet Mandy, who I brought home yesterday afternoon. Mandy climbed all over Sammy sniffing her, and they then promptly snuggled up together for a snooze. I'm so happy that they got along so quickly.

So, my questions. A few quick general ones to start:

I keep hearing/reading that if you want to breed your rabbits you can't keep them together from babies, you have to keep them separate and then put them together later. If this is the case, how do people end up with surprise litters after inaccurate gender determination?

Given my girls are currently the bestestest little buddies immaginable, but will probably not be desexed, will they remain friends or start having tanties at each other when they hit puberty? If that is likely to happen, when should I expect it, how bad will it be, and will they be friends again after desexing?

Now for the colour questions, which is what I picked this part of the forum for.