Rabbit of the Month - Bambi

Rabbits Online > Pet Rabbit Discussion > The Rabbitry and Show Room > Is my bunny pregnant?

Old 09-20-2013, 03:34 PM   #1
WillowRabbitry
Cadbury Pemberton Rabbitr

Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default Is my bunny pregnant?

This is my first time breeding rabbits, and the does first time breeding also. She is a 6 month old Holland Lop. She is medium size for her breed. I bred them August 21, so they should be due tomorrow or sometimes soon. I am pretty sure she is pregnant. She barely eats anything lately and has become very cranky and mean! The problem is that they are due tomorrow and she hasn't started making a nest yet.
I don't know what to do if she doesn't make a nest.

Old 09-20-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
lynnnora2

Liked 28 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 17

I have a similar problem, I bred my 2 does on 22 August, the older one has made her nest already, but my younger one who is 6 months also seems to start a nest then destroy it then start a new one then destroy it and so on. Its frustrating and worrying that they wont know what to do when the time comes. I have now put 2 boxes in, in the hope she nests in the preferred end of the cage.

Old 09-21-2013, 12:04 AM   #3
Azerane
Mod at Large
RABBIT_MODERATOR.png

Rabbits

Liked 544 Times on 463 Posts
Likes Given: 28

She may simply make the nest at the last minute, some does also pull fur after they give birth. She is a new mum, so she may not get it right the first time, if she does have babies without pulling fur, you may have to improvise with something.

I am a little concerned that you say she's hardly been eating anything, if she's pregnant she should be eating more to support her babies.

Let us know how it goes.

Old 09-21-2013, 12:55 AM   #4
majorv

Liked 207 Times on 187 Posts
Likes Given: 122