Rabbit of the Month - Spud

Rabbits Online > Pet Rabbit Discussion > Housing and Environment > House bunny - where does yours sleep at night?

Old 01-17-2013, 04:52 PM   #1
d0tti

Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default House bunny - where does yours sleep at night?

So I am still relatively new to this house bunny business. At night, do you just lock your bunnies up in their cage?
Herman lives in the back room, with her hutch in there and the door open, so she has the whole room to herself with toys and tunnels etc. A little gate sits across the door of the room to stop her coming out. When i am home and awake...i let her have free run of the house, well the main rooms which are bunny proofed. When I am ready for bed, i round her up back to her room and shut the gate. Is this what everyone does, or do your bunnies have run of the house all night too?

I feel sorry for her being alone at night in the back room and wonder does anyone let their bun sleep in the bedroom? I'd love her to be able to sleep next to my bed at night (not that she would stay there, I'm sure she would be up all night roaming!)

Old 01-17-2013, 05:30 PM   #2
agnesthelion

Liked 229 Times on 210 Posts
Likes Given: 242

I do what you do. My two are free run during the day but at night they are "locked" up in their 3 story NIC condo. I feel safer with them contained at night

Old 01-17-2013, 06:27 PM   #3
Spock

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Spock is out "unsupervised" for the majority of the day - he has his "room" and can also come out into the living room to visit/run around. He goes back into his cage at night (around 11pm, at the earliest). He is a recent addition to our houshold and is still getting to know the cats, so it's safer for him to be tucked in "bed".

He also goes into his cage during the day if we leave the house for a long period of time (more than an hour).

Old 01-17-2013, 06:36 PM   #4
Apebull
RABBIT_SUPPORTER.png

Rabbits

Liked 189 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 274