Rabbit of the Month - TBD

Rabbits Online > Pet Rabbit Discussion > Nutrition and Behavior > How much hay should I feed my rabbit per day?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2012, 06:01 AM   #1
winggx
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 17
Default

I was told that fresh hay should be given to a rabbit everyday.
Does it mean I have to fill the hay feeder with fresh hay in the beginning of the day, then throw away the remains in the end of the day and refill with fresh hay again?
If that is the case, then one pack of hay can be done in 3 days... which cost me about $13...
Is this the correct way to do?


winggx is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:27 AM   #2
Korr_and_Sophie
 
Korr_and_Sophie's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 4,214
Liked 220 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

I will just top up the hay. Unless it gets wet or something, then there is really no need to throw it out.
Some rabbits will eat more than others, so there is not real set amount for how much to give.


Korr_and_Sophie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:04 AM   #3
nobunnynoclue
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Posts: 162
Default

Look into ordering timothy hay from a local feed store or farm.
If that's not an option, then compare prices against some online store like sweetmeadowfarm.com. Hay can be as cheap as water if you know where to get it. And you need to supply your bunny with hay 24/7.
nobunnynoclue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:38 PM   #4
BlueCamasRabbitry
 
BlueCamasRabbitry's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Thurston County, Washington, USA
Posts: 5,167
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

My rabbits get a handful of hay in the evenings only. If they get it twice daily they end up wasting the majority of it.

I buy my hay from local farmers and can get a 60 to 70 pound bale which, right now, is lasting 3 rabbits well over a month, for about $6.

Those little packs of hay from the feedstores just aren't worth your money when you could get so much more for so much less.

Emily
BlueCamasRabbitry is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:21 PM   #5
1234bunnies777
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 260
Default

i throw out the hay when it gets dirty and yes they NEED unlimited amount of hay you should try buying hay from farms by the bail is is a ton cheeper
1234bunnies777 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:53 AM   #6
Nancy McClelland
Larry
RABBIT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Nancy McClelland's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 14,416
Liked 614 Times on 513 Posts
Likes Given: 922

Send a message via Yahoo to Nancy McClelland
Default

We use orchard grass and keep the mangers full at all times. Finn gets his filled at least 5 times during the cou;rse of the day.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like I'm running a fertilizer factory.
Nancy McClelland is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:10 AM   #7
wendymac
 
wendymac's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McVeytown, Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,123
Liked 161 Times on 116 Posts
Likes Given: 230

Default

Mine have hay in front of them, all the time. I remove any that gets soiled (from the moms with litters), and replenish as needed. Some of mine eat a lot, some just pick at it.
wendymac is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:29 AM   #8
Nela
 
Nela's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Amsterdam, , Netherlands
Posts: 2,337
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

The general rule is to give them as much as they eat and if they don't eat much, find ways to make them eat it more. Lol.Like others mentioned, if it's wet or soiled, you'll need to remove that, otherwise you can just add to it.


Nela is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Newest Threads