Newbie here

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lillika

Reaction score
My name is Lily and I've got two rabbits, a spayed female called Ruby and a neutered boy called Micah. I've had Ruby for almost 2 years now and Micah only 8 months.
Its kinds of a long and sad story of how I ended up with with my two rabbits so please bear with me.
Two years ago my friend decided she wanted rabbits, she got Chester from an online site here in NZ. She then went to the SPCA and got my now rabbit Ruby, Ruby didn't come with any history, not even her age was known, just a young rabbit.
Rather than doing the normal introductions my friend put Ruby straight into Chester's hutch. I'm not entirely sure how she could've missed all the fighting that had to have been going on straight away but she only mentioned to me they were possibly fighting(she found a tear in Chester's ear) a couple of weeks after they started living together. I tried to get her to separate the two but she said she didn't have another hutch or have room for another hutch. About a month later Chester got sick and died.
I think it was then Ruby's behavior got really vicious, she became incredibly territorial of her hutch, she would make lunges at my friend when she was trying to clean the hutch or just give her some food. She never ever bit but her scratches were pretty bad.