Frustrated

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xchr1stinax

Reaction score
I'm so frustrated! :X I love my bunny, Nugget, to pieces, and nobody seems to understand that. When she broke her leg, Itook her to the emergency clinic in the middle of the night because I was so scared for her.The vet therecouldn't do anything for her so the next day, I had to takeNuggetto a familyvet.Her bills totalled $600, ahuge amount of money for me(I'm a full-time university student working a part-time job). When my family and friends found out, their reaction was "Why'd you pay so much? She's just a bunny! Just buy a new one, they're $50 at the pet store!" Hello, insensitive much? :cry2

Another frustration:my mom refuses to let Nugget roam around inside the house.Not the kitchen, notthe living room, not my bedroom.(Nugget use to run around on our large balcony during the day). She claims that
-Nugget's poop and pee is "toxic" to the air we breathe
- Nugget smells (she doesn't)
- Nugget's dirty because she cleans herself with her own saliva (what??!)
and other excuses that don't make any sense. Fall and cold weatheraren't too far away .. and I'm worried about my mom's attitude.

How can I convinceher that Nugget does not deserve to be locked up in a cage all day? (She currently isn't. I let her roam around the living room when my mom's at work :pShe's got excellent litter-box habits so I don't worry). Do your friends think you're crazy for treating your buns like babies?

Try to pity those who don't understand how special bunnies are, because, at the end of the day, it is them who miss out.

Why don't you print out info from the forum about the issues she is raising, or else invite her to join the forum and post her concerns.

Would your mum be happy if you used a puppy pen to keep Nugget contained in?