what if my doesn't take care of her babies?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bashful

Reaction score
well, my doe bashful might be pregenant and i need some tips on taking care of baby rabbits incase she doesn't... can you guys help me...
it's only like a week since i breed her, and its my first time, so just incase...
because id really really appreciate it.
and anyone know how to take care of the doe too??
thanks, love yvonne

Yvonne, We generally prefer people to do their research before they breed their rabbits. There are a number of things that can go wrong and jeopardize the life of your doe. You will need extra cages to separate the mother from the babies, you will need another cage to separate the boys form the girls. You will need to find good homes for the babies when they are 8 weeks old. You ae going to have a bit of work ahead of you.

But if she is already bred, the best thing to do is be ready for whatever will happen. The gestation should be about 31 days from the day she was bred. What breed is Bashful? What does she weigh? What breed is the buck? What does he weigh? Do you have the name and number of a good vet in case something goes wrong? Do you have any idea what you are going to do with the babies?

You will need a box that she can use as a nest box. Something just big enough for her to hop into and turn around. (Not too big, or she can accidentally harm the kits.) For smaller breeds, a shoe box works well. You will need shavings or absorbent material for the bottom of the box and a nice dry thick layer of hay over it.

She will pull fur off her belly and chest to line the nest right before she delivers. You should keep the area quiet and calm, leave her alone while she is delivering.