Poll: What type of litter do you use?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I use ABM wood pellets. It is one of two wood pellet brands I can find in my area, and it seems to be a little less dusty and absorbs better, plus it's always in stock at that feed store. 50 lbs is about $4.

I used to use Carefresh, which is a fluffy recycled paper litter. It's pretty good, but it's really expensive and I didn't really like how it compacted down under little bunny butts. It's easier to scoop out just the dirty corners with wood pellets.

I use Agway Pelleted Horse Bedding for the pull-out tray in their cage, but their litterboxes have newspaper in them.

I use Woody Pet, but the last bag I've been using (which I had stored in the basement for the last 4-5 months) is useless. The pellets broke down and there is no absorption value to it at all. I have to change the litter boxes daily, and they still smell of urine. I'm thinking of switching to another brand if I can find one that's not too expensive.

Well, I just called the local feed store here, and they do stock a product called Magnum Horse Bedding...similar to WP (and probably similar to Pine Stall, Dawn). I did a quick search on the net for it, and from what I could gather, it seems to be processed the same way as WP. I'm going to give that a try, as it's cheap ($7.99 CA for 40 lbs) and the store is much closer to me than the one that stocked WP here.

:)

I am SO glad you posted this topic!