i want a bunny

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weeee

Reaction score
hi guys i am looking for a bunny that will staysmall im new to this and not sure what kind to get and how much theycost or where i can adopt one. im in the ny area thanks

Sometimes your local shelter might have somebunnies. Dwarf Rabbits stay pretty small. My bun cost $24.99 and herstarter kit (cage, food, shavings) was $59.99. Make sure you knoweverything you need to know. They're not that easy to takecare of. And never buy a bunny as an easter gift because most peopleonly want them for Easter then the novelty wears off and the poorlittle things get abused and abandoned. So please do your research wellbefore getting one.

Hi Weee,

The shelter's a perfect place to get a rabbit. There's a lot of benefits to not having a baby rabbit as a first bunny.

I would strongly suggest you not buy a rabbit from a petstore. Manytimes, the rabbits are taken away from their mothers too young and thatleads to problems, the environment they keep their rabbits in isn'thealthy and many of the workers don't know how to advise you on whatyou need for the rabbit, and many rabbits are sickly.

If you wish not to rescue a rabbit from the shelter, then go to areputable rabbit breeder in your area. You can contact the ARBA(American Rabbit Breeders Society) via a search on the web and find outfrom them where breeders in your area are.

You would be wise to follow MyBunnyLovesMe's advice as stated above. She hits a lot of valid points.

Let us know how you make out; whether you get a bunny or not. Best of luck!

-Carolyn